The X-Files Hand

Recognise this?
X-Files Hand

It’s the hand print used in the X-Files opening sequence.
Out of all the images used to start the TV show, this was the only one which always caught my eye, and so I decided to do a bit of research.

The process is called Kirlian photography, and is essentially the creation of a photogram by passing an object through and electrified field. I’m not going to embarrass myself by pretending I actually know what I’m talking about, so if you want to know a more detailed explanation then have a look at the wikipedia page.

The technique has been bounced around through various alternative groups, mostly trying to find something supernatural in it. And that’s not as ridiculous as it may sound.

Explanations have always been slightly… incomplete. I mean the science is there, but its part of that “we kinda get it” school of thought.

These are two images that Uri Geller made:
Uri 1
Uri 2
Point of contact is the tip of the index finger, but as you can see there is more than just the finger tip being shown. Now I know, I know… Uri Geller. He’s a douche. But he does occasionally display some interesting abilities – albeit mostly accidental.

But that’s all… meh, not so interesting, and to be honest I find attempts to prove supernatural occurrences within nature to show a real lack of faith in nature itself. Just let it do what it will, and you’re bound to find more interesting results than anything you could contrive yourself.

And that’s what these are:
The same technique used on just leaves.
Leaf 1
Leaf 2
Leaf 3
Leaf 4
Leaf 5

And this flower:
Flower

I find them quite beautiful.

7 Comments

Filed under Links, The Universe

7 responses to “The X-Files Hand

  1. Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Pingback: acai

  3. Pingback: Michelle

  4. Justin

    While the topic is a bit old, I still found it very informative and I appreciated that atleast one other fan bothered to talk about it 🙂

  5. Thanks for the info. I’m watching an episode of the x-files at the moment, and the hand caught my eye also, so I googled “x-files into hand”, and here I am 😀

  6. icunvnme

    I Googled, “flower in x files intro” I obviously want to know what the flower that is blooming is called. This blog is informative, thank you. Also, a side note, it was really well written. So I will second the motion… Keep up the good work.

  7. liquid-slow

    Thank you for all the well written info. And thank you Google, too. As always. Now back to X-Files private marathon on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

